Chesapeake, VA Reckless Driving

If you live in or around the Chesapeake, Virginia area and have been charged with reckless driving, it is in your best interest to contact a criminal defense attorney. In many Virginia jurisdictions, you need to be represented by a criminal defense attorney if you wish to enter into a plea bargain with the prosecution.

Reckless driving is considered a serious criminal offense and it is a Class I misdemeanor in the state of Virginia. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, this charge will stay on your criminal record for life and it may prevent you from obtaining housing, a job or even being able to attend school.

The consequences for reckless driving are severe and you may receive up to one year in jail if you are convicted. The judge may also order you to pay up to a $2500 fine and your license may be suspended for six months. For these reasons alone, it is very important to contact an attorney who will fight for your rights.

Now that you understand the severity of reckless driving, it’s important for you to understand how you can be charged with this crime. In the state of Virginia, you can be charged with reckless driving for such serious traffic offenses as speeding over 20mph over the posted speed limit or for driving over 80mph no matter what the speed limit is. You can also be charged with reckless driving if you are involved in racing or have passed a stopped school bus. Brakes that are working improperly or failing to merge on a highway will also result in a reckless driving charge.

The state of Virginia will charge a person with reckless driving if a police officer observes a person operating a motor vehicle with a complete disregard for the safety of others. This may be any type of dangerous driving that is witnessed by a police officer.

If you or someone you know has been charged with reckless driving, don’t dismiss it as just another speeding ticket. This is a criminal offense with harsh penalties and it can affect a person for the rest of their lives. Be sure to research attorneys in your area who specialize in defending reckless driving charges.

Free Case Evaluations (24-Hours)